top of page

Serendipity…… is not worrying about the closed doors…move on to those that open!


Persian:  illustration of Amir Khusrow's 1302 poem unknown

The occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way.

‘a fortunate stroke of serendipity’

1754: coined by Horace Walpole, suggested by The Three Princes of Serendip, the title of a fairy tale in which the heroes ‘were always making discoveries, by accidents and sagacity, of things they were not in quest of’.

The princes were sent away by their father the king in order to gain more knowledge so they could be good rulers some day. They visited an island called Serendip (Sri Lanka) where, after observing that only grass on the left side of the road had been eaten, they concluded that a camel blind in its right eye had recently trod there. They went on to make many such wondrous and delightful discoveries, learning things they and the king never foresaw.

The fairy tale the princes learned things they “never foresaw.” The absence of intentionality, a sort of Zen approach, is characteristic of serendipity. If we look too hard for something it may never come into sight.

This was a good lesson to learn. I met with Sarah Goodey (Gwent Arts in Health…aka GARTH) and we discussed the direction of my work. My grand plan at this time was to create an ongoing gallery in the reception of my local GP surgery.

Using detail from one of my paintings I came up with some poster designs for the proposed exhibition.

All of the friends and neighbours who had participated in my musicpainting workshops are registered here. The only snag was that I had received a one line rejection from the lead GP. The doctor explained that “historically it is something that hasn’t been offered”

I also photoshopped a before and after image of the GP's reception area

Rogersotne Practice as it is now (photo 2016)

Rogerstone Practise artist impression (photoshop 2016)

To reject a free art exhibition extolling the virtues of mindfulness/flow, with examples from current patients to brighten a drab reception, seemed wrong on many levels. However when one takes good advice, it is probable that you will knock on a door that will welcome you with open arms. The door “I never foresaw” was Chepstow Community Hospital, which appeared once I had stopped trying to force the direction of my work.

The dementia team on the St Pierre Ward were setting up various Cognitive Stimulation Therapy interventions in the community and on the ward. They wanted an artist to run some of the sessions and to them, my timely approach made me their perfect candidate.

It is so refreshing to work with people who understand the value of painting intervention with the elderly and I’m certain that the positive energy from all concerned, especially the service users, will create many more future workshop opportunities, many more doors, some of which will be open to me.

First Request to Chepstow


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page